WBB | Norman Inducted into Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame

WBB | Norman Inducted into Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame

One of the best to pull on the blue and gold, Dianne Norman, has been inducted into the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame.  A member of the Lady Vees squad that won back-to-back national champions in ’89-‘90 and ‘90-’91, Norman was also a two time Olympian.  Entering the Hall with Norman are Howard Kelsey (Player / Builder), Patricia Lawson (Player), Joanne Sargent (Player), Mike Smrek (Player) and John Weiland (Official).


“On behalf of everyone in the Canada Basketball community, I’d like to welcome each of this year’s inductees into the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame,” said Glen Grunwald, President & CEO of Canada Basketball in a release.  “While Canada continues to experience unprecedented growth in basketball, it is important to recognize and celebrate all those that have come before and contributed so much to our great game in this country.  There is no better way to thank and congratulate these wonderful inductees for their service and accomplishments.”


One of the longest serving players within Canada’s Women’s National Team program, Norman was a member of Team Canada from 1988 to 2003. The Fredericton, New Brunswick native appeared in 157 international games for Canada, was a two-time Olympian (1996, 2000) and also represented the red and white at the Pan-American Games and World University Games. While attending Laurentian University, Norman and the Lady Vees captured the Bronze Baby Trophy as CIAU champions in back-to-back seasons (1990-91).  Over the course of her university career, she was also named a four time All-Canadian. Norman played professionally overseas in Spain, Switzerland and Germany.


Norman was quoted as saying, “I’m so humbled and appreciative to have shared the court and career with so many athletes, coaches and officials.  Thanks to Canada Basketball and Basketball New Brunswick for all the hard work behind the scenes which make athlete dreams possible.”


Norman, who was inducted into the Laurentian Alumni Voyageur Hall of Fame in 2001, becomes the sixth Voyageur to be inducted into the Hall, following in the footsteps of Kathy and Ken Shields, John McKibbon, Chris Critelli and Sylvia Sweeney.