Voyageurs Leave Their Mark at Annual Sudbury Awards

Voyageurs Leave Their Mark at Annual Sudbury Awards

A handful of Voyageurs attended the Sudbury Sports Hall of Fame Celebrity Dinner and Awards on Wednesday night and they certainly did not leave empty handed.  With a total of five nominations in four different categories, Voyageur student-athletes were named winners in three of those categories.


Leading the way was the Women’s Curling team of Krysta Burns, Megan Smith, Sara Guy and Laura Masters who, after winning Laurentian’s first national championship in 26 years, were named the 2017 Team of the Year. 


Following up his incredible rookie campaign, Men’s Basketball player, Kadre Gray, was named the Import Athlete of the Year.  Gray led the country in scoring this past season and became the first Voyageurs men’s basketball player to be named the national Rookie of the Year.


After leading the country in saves last season, with 118 saves in 15 games played, Men’s Soccer goalkeeper Connor Vande Weghe was named the Amateur Male Athlete of the Year.


The full list of nominees is below with the Voyageurs italicized and the winners in bold.


Amateur Female Athlete of the Year
Kayla Folz (Sudbury Laurels - Gymnastics)
Jenna Hellstrom (Kent State Golden Flashes - Soccer)
Tiffany Johnson (Cambrian Golden Shield - Soccer)

Amateur Male Athlete of the Year
Charles de la Riva Jr (Sudbury YMCA - Squash)
Michael Marcantognini (Michigan State Spartans - Soccer)
Connor Vande Weghe (Laurentian Voyageurs - Soccer)

Import Athlete of the Year
Kadre Gray (Laurentian Voyageurs - Basketball)
Riley Konrad (Laurentian Voyageurs - Swimming)
Mary Strain (Cambrian Golden Shield - Cross-Country)

Professional Athlete of the Year
Dave Brisebois (National Hockey League - Linesman)
Nick Foligno (Columbus Blue Jackets - Hockey)
Rebecca Johnston (Team Canada - Hockey)

Elite Athlete of the Year
Collin Cameron (Laurentian Nordic - Para-Nordic Skiing)
Curtis Halladay (Laurentian Rowing - Para Rowing)
Ross Proudfoot (Speed River - Distance Running)

Coach of the Year
Dale Beausoleil (Cambrian Golden Shield - Women's Volleyball)
Patti Kitler (Laurentian Nordic - Para-Nordic Skiing)
Aaron Rehel (Sudbury Gladiators - Football)

Team of the Year
Krysta Burns U Sport rink (Laurentian Voyageurs - Curling)
Krysta Burns U21 rink (Idylwylde Golf & Country Club - Curling)
Sudbury Gladiators (Ontario Football Conference - Football)

Bill Roman Administration Award
Marisue James (Sudbury Playground Hockey League, Sudbury Youth Basketball League)
Joe McColeman (Nickel District Hockey League)
Gary Petrin (Official - Lacrosse, Hockey, Football)

High School Female Athlete of the Year
Allison Byrnes (Marymount Regals - Flag Football, Soccer, Track & Field)
Gracen Lacko (Lo-Ellen Park Knights - Golf, Volleyball, Tennis, Badminton)
Dylann Mazzuchin (Lo-Ellen Park Knights - Cross-Country, Basketball, Track & Field)

High School Male Athlete of the Year
Max McGillivray (St Benedict Bears - Football, Basketball, Track & Field)
Callum Roque (St Charles College - Football, Hockey, Basketball, Soccer)
Dylan Terris (Lasalle Lancers - Volleyball, Basketball)

High School Team of the Year
Lo-Ellen Park Knights - Nordic Ski team
Lockerby Vikings - girls curling team
Marymount Regals - girls flag football team